THE COMMISSION

The Honorable Robert E. Woodside

Judge, Superior Court of Pennsylvania Chairman of the Commission

The Honorable Horace Stern

Former Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Pennsylvania Vice Chairman of the Commission

Senator Robert D. Fleming

Member, Senate of Pennsylvania Secretary of the Commission

Lieutenant General Milton G. Baker

Superintendent, Valley Forge Military Academy

The Honorable Genevieve Blatt

Secretary of Internal Affairs

Matthew A. Crawford, Esq.

Vice President and General Counsel, Pittsburg and Shawmut Railroad

The Honorable Richardson Dilworth

Mayor of Philadelphia

Dr. Jefferson B. Fordham

Dean, University of Pennsylvania Law School

Mr. George R. Lamade

Publisher, Grit

Mrs. Mitchell MacCartney

President, Pennsylvania Council of Republican Women

Dr. M. Nelson McGeary

Head, Department of Political Science, Pennsylvania State University

Mrs. Robert L. McGeehan

Second Vice President (1957-1958), Pennsylvania League of Women Voters

Philip Price, Esq.

Barnes, Dechert, Price, Myers and Rhoads

The Honorable O. Jacob Tallman

Former Member, Senate of Pennsylvania Butz, Hudders, Tallman and Rupp

The Honorable Edwin W. Tompkins

Member, House of Representatives of Pennsylvania



COMMISSION ON CONSTITUTIONAL REVISION

Seated, from left: Genevieve Blatt, Horace Stern, vice-chairman, Robert E. Woodside, chairman, Robert D. Fleming, secretary, Gwendolyn W. MacCartney. Standing: O. Jacob Tallman, Jefferson B. Fordham, George R. Lamade, M. Nelson McGeary, Harriet McGeehan, Philip Price, Edwin W. Tompkins, Matthew A. Crawford, Richardson Dilworth. Milton G. Baker was absent when the picture was taken.

THE COMMITTEES

Committee on Organization and Procedure

Fordham, Chairman

Crawford Fleming

Ctorn

Stern Woodside

Committee on Education and Social Welfare

Baker, Chairman

Lamade

Stern

Committee on The Executive

Fleming, Chairman

Baker

Blatt

Dilworth

McGeary

Committee on The Judiciary and Human Rights

Stern, Chairman

Dilworth

McGeehan

Price

Woodside

Committee on The Legislative

Tompkins, Chairman

Crawford

Fleming

Fordham

Tallman

Committee on Local Government

Blatt, Chairman

Fordham

Lamade

MacCartney

McGeary

Committee on State Finance

Crawford, Chairman

McGeehan

Price

Tompkins

Woodside

Committees on Suffrage and Elections and Amendment and Revision

Tallman, Chairman

MacCartney

McGeehan

THE STAFF

Severino Stefanon - Executive Director

S. Edward Hannestad, Counsel Bruce E. Cooper, Assistant Counsel Dr. Richard A. Edwards, Consultant

Research Assistants

Allen W. Burns, for The Executive Herbert E. Hays, for Suffrage and Elections W. H. Clay Keen, for The Legislative Harry A. Kitey, for Local Government Dr. Edward B. Logan, for State Finance Donald S. Smith, for Local Government

Statisticians -

Charles F. Burnheimer Kenneth I. Woodhall

Stella Friedman, Secretary Theresa M. Breski, Stenographer Mary B. Kaminski, Stenographer

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

In preparation of this report the Commission has had invaluable assistance from many sources for which it is deeply grateful.

Particular recognition is given to the Pennsylvania Economy League for putting its research facilities at the disposal of the Commission. The Committee on State Finance was aided materially by the able assistance of Dr. David H. Kurtzman and Mr. David R. Baldwin. The Committee on Local Government received many valuable services from Mr. John W. Ingram, Mr. Robert S. Lewis, and Mr. Fred E. Hershey.

The Commission is also indebted to Dr. John H. Ferguson, Budget Secretary, Representative Norman Wood, Chairman of the House Committee on Appropriations, Mr. Truman B. Thompson, Secretary of the House Committee on Appropriations, Attorney General Thomas D. McBride, Deputy Attorney General Harrington Adams and Deputy Attorney General George Keitel for their generous assistance in its studies in the field of state finance.

Numerous individuals and organizations have been helpful in studying preliminary proposals and making their comments available to the Committees. George F. Baer Appel, Esq., Mr. S. Edward Moore, Parliamentarian of the House of Representatives, Thomas Raeburn White, Esq., the Pennsylvania State Chamber of Commerce and the Pennsylvania State Association of Boroughs gave the Commission much of their time.

The Bureau of Municipal Affairs was most helpful, as were all other departments within the state government to whom a request for assistance was addressed.

The Commission recognizes the generosity of the Charles Fremont Taylor Trust of Philadelphia which made a grant of \$5,000 available to the Commission for research on the subject of home rule for cities and other local communities.

The Commission appreciates, too, the encouragement received from many sources, particularly The Pennsylvania League of Women Voters. The interest shown by many organizations, at the public hearings and subsequent thereto, has been stimulating.

The Commission is grateful for all of these expressions of interest in its work.